Creating fresh, dewy, gorgeous skin is this A/W 2016 trend. Finding the right skincare and makeup is super important in achieving this; (seeing as we don’t have the warm summer months anymore). So for this post, I thought I’d do an update of what was in my makeup bag. It has some of my favourite products in and are perfect for this time of month.

img_2566-2

Primer

When the colder months roll in it’s important to look after your skin to create a perfect base. Starting with you skincare and drinking lots of water can definately help, but so can a primer. I have really been enjoying the Clinique Universal Primer that I have been trialing as a free tester. It creates a smooth and hydrated base that is going to help make foundation application easier and longer lasting.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-17-14-20

Foundation

To create fresh looking skin I have been using Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue in the shade Vanilla. Its powerful hydrating properties means you can achieve a healthy-looking coverage that isn’t too cakey and feels lovely on the skin. It’s the best of a CC and a BB cream meaning you get the best of both worlds. You can apply via your fingers or a buffing brush allowing a light to medium coverage. I have been loving using this as an everyday product and is now the staple product in my makeup bag.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-17-29-52

Another foundation I have been trialing alongside the universal primer is Clinique’s new Superbalanced Silk Foundation. You can go into stores and get colour-matched and recieve a 10 day free trial with the primer to try it out. The foundation is beautifully light on the skin and gives you the coverage you need and want. With the primer, it creates flawless, dewy skin and something I will be purchasing for the festive season. It has oil-control and is great for all skin types.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-17-41-38

Concealer

To brighten under the eyes I have been enjoying using the L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique Highlighter in the light shade. The twist up pen makes application really easy and brightens up my complexion. You can find it in the likes of Boots and Superdrug  and can also be used to highlight other features on your face.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-17-50-02

Powder

For powders I mix between two which I have previously mentioned on the blog.
The first one comes from Origins which is the Revitilising Mineral Makeup which can be used alone or to set makeup; and the second comes from Hourglass which is part of the Ambient Lighting Collection.

Bronzer and Highlighter

For bronzing and highlighting I still use the Tanya Burr Peachy Cheek Palette and the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette.
You can see the review of them on a recent post called ‘Summer Bronze’ which is the second link below.


You can see the two posts HERE  and HERE.

img_2567-2

Brows

Both of my favourite brow products come from Benefit. To fill and shape I use the Goof Proof Brow Pencil. It is so simple to use with the shaped tip and comes with a spooly on the end to help tame brows. Over the top I use Gimme Brow. This helps keep brows set in place and stops hair from going stray. You can also use this alone for quick results if you are in a rush.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-18-16-19

Mascara

Roller Lash has become a staple product in my makeup bag and when using other mascara’s they don’t quite match it. It’s super easy and quick to use giving fast and effective results. With the curve in the wand, it fits your eyelashes giving them volume and length- from a fluttery day to day look to mega volume for a night out. The packaging, like all Benefit products, is super cute and will instantly become a part of your everyday makeup routine.

benefit-rollerlash

Eyes

During Autumn warm golden tones complement pale skin with plums, reds, and golden shimmer. At this time of year I reach for my MAC quad which contains vanilla, cranberrry, charcoal brown, and honey lust. I’ve also been using the Clarins eyeshadow in silver pink which has lovely plumy/pink shade. Unfortunately, I can no longer find this shade however I have linked a similar one down below.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-18-39-05

img_2568-2

Lips

When you think of Autumnal makeup the first thing to come to mind are deep berry shades. I don’t normlly wear lipstick on a day to day basis, but when I do I reach for the Clarins Joli Rouge Lipstick in Raspberry and the Tanya Burr lipglosses.
The lipstick has a beautiful creamy formula and is hydrating on the lips (top lipstick) whilst the Tanya Burr lipgloss is the perfect berry shade (one underneath).
Unfortunately the lipgloss was apart of the advent calendar last year but there are some similar in which you can buy. (Eyeshadow is honeylust).
Get the best of both worlds with this Clarins lipgloss pictured below.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-18-47-38

img_2571-2

img_2569-2

And there we have it! All of the products I have been using so far this Autumn.
I hope this gives you fresh ideas on how to update your makeup bag for the season.

Love,
Lou x

Leave a Reply

