FullSizeRender 3

I don’t know why but whenever I used to go over to the Origins stand to have a look around the mega-mushroom skincare never took my fancy. I think it was the name? The sound of putting mushroom on my face just didn’t seem appealing. However, it wasn’t until I spoke to the lady at the counter that I realised how stupid I was being.

Yes, it does contain mushrooms (surprise surprise), but, this soothing cream hydrates, calms down the skin, reduces redness and relieves sensitivity. It contains the Reishi mushroom that Dr Weil discovered when he travelled to China where it is known as the spirit plant.

So after speaking to the lady on the counter, I was given a sample to try of the soothing face cream. Origins are great at giving out samples and so I had a weeks supply to try it out.

IMG_0569

The first thing I noticed was the smell that is gorgeous! It isn’t overpowering and once you have applied it to the skin it sinks in immediately and you can no longer smell it.
Within the week, I had already noticed that my skin had reduced in redness, calmed down any spots, and helped with hydration which is a common problem at this time of year. Moreover, I love the fact that this cream doesn’t leave a film over the skin which is one thing that I always look for in face creams.
The ‘ouch’ point, however, is the price point at £50! So, after finishing the sample, I didn’t return to buy it as it was rather expensive.

A couple of days later I could already tell from not using the cream a difference in my skin. It just didn’t feel the same and so I went to buy it leaving quite a big dent in my bank account! The only fortunate thing was that because it was the Christmas period I managed to pick it up in a set with the Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief which is an advanced serum, the face cleanser, the soothing treatment lotion, and three samples of the face mask. When I run out of all of it, I am quite scared for my bank account… and here is why.

Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief- Soothing treatment lotion

IMG_0572

After cleansing my face with Liz Earle’s Cleanse and Polish, I apply a small amount of this onto a cotton pad and apply all over. It effectively removes any makeup that is left on the skin and leaves it feeling refreshed and clean. It works very well when you use it with the rest of the range I feel like it works really efficiently and has helped improve my skin.

Mega-Mushroom Advanced Skin Relief Face Serum

IMG_0576

I like to apply this after the soothing lotion and it feels great on the skin. You can use this morning and night and it sinks in beautifully. On the origins website it says: ‘used faithfully, skin is transformed from reactive to resilient and from stressed to soothed to reveal healthier, more radiant appearance’ which I completely agree with. If my skin feels sore from a new breakout after applying this, it really calms it down and leaves it feeling nourished. The price point is £62 but if skin care is your thing, then I would definitely recommend trying this out. Again, Origins are amazing at letting you try before you buy so even if you wanted to see what the fuss is about it is a great opportunity.

Mega-Mushroom Face Cleanser and Masks

I am yet to try these two products as I love the Liz Earle ones and they work really well with my skin, but from using the other products am definitely excited to try them. The face cleanser claims to gently but effectively remove makeup, dirt, debris and impurities without upsetting the skin; while the mask reduces redness, blotchiness and reactivity. It also claims to restore luminosity which is everything you want from skincare.

A micellar water has also been added to the range which would be great for those lazy make-up days where you can’t be bothered to do a full cleanse, tone, and moisturise but will still be able to get the benefits from the advanced ingredients.

If you were to buy the soothing lotion, serum and cream (I would highly recommend these three) it would set you back £126.50! But, if you are suffering from redness, sensitivity, acne, or dryness I think that this range will seriously help, especially if you can’t find anything else that is working. The price point, I think, is because of the high amounts of natural ingredients, but they really do work! If brought online at Origins they always have a gift with purchase on and wrap up all your purchases. Alternatively, you can visit one of their counters and ask to trial the products before you buy.

IMG_0586IMG_0561

Let me know if you give any of the mega-mushroom range a go!

Love, Lou

Leave a Reply

